Posted in Monday/Friday Meals & Food, Recipes

Goblin Biscuits

20180921_2258031

Ugly, dense, strange biscuits such as these can only be called goblin biscuits. They only vaguely resemble the drop biscuits they were modeled after.

This is what happens when a homemade gluten free baking powder biscuits are left without any sort of leavening or added fat (not found in the seeds). The sunflower seed flour also makes them tinted gray. I know the pics don’t show it well because my phone kept trying to color correct it, but I’ll guarantee that these biscuits have a gray cast to them and not so much the lovely toasted color it looks in the pic.

For my current food restrictions this vague biscuit-like food is the closest I’ve figured out how to do biscuits. They are dense and heavy but they work well enough when I get the occasional bad craving for biscuits with soup, biscuits and gravy, or creamed whatever over biscuits. We had creamed peas and ‘chipped beef’ (usually replaced by diced up Carl Buddig lunch meat) over toast a lot of the time growing up so this is very much a comfort food for me.

Despite the name and appearances these are toasty, crunchy, soft in the middle. Both Hubby and I find them to be really yummy. The rice flour doesn’t have a chance to cook much on the outside so it leaves tiny little crunchy bits in the crust that I like. Reminds me of the texture of cornbread.

20180921_2259031

These my not have any ingredients that resemble traditional drop biscuits, but for me I find them to be a very good replacement. I’ll admit that the flavor is ‘heavy’ compared to all-purpose (wheat) flour baking powder biscuits. But before my wheat issues we pretty much used pastry grind whole wheat flour and oat flour. I like that it has a distinctive flavor to it.

Goblin Biscuits

20180921_2258031
Ugly biscuits. Unleavened lumps. WTF biscuits. These are the type of biscuits that are created when running out of options but still wanting something to call a biscuit.

| Dairy-Free | Gluten-Free | Wheat-Free | Extracted Starch free |
| Corn-Free | No Added Oil | Baking Soda Free |
| Vegetarian | Ovo-Vegetarian |Ā 

Makes:Ā 6 dainty drop biscuits

Ingredients:

1 large Egg
2 TBS. Water
1/2 tsp. Chia Powder or Psyllium Husk Powder
1/4 tsp. Salt
114 g. Seedy Millet Flour

Directions:

1. Whisk together Egg, Water, Chia, and salt. Add Flour and combine thoroughly. The mix will seem a little soft.

2. Let stand 5 minutes (so the flours can absorb the moisture.)

3. Spoon into 6 small biscuit onto ungreased silicone baking sheet.

4. Bake at 425Ā°F for 15 minutes.

Leave a comment